22
Apr
15

140 Characters Of Hump Day Laughter

https://twitter.com/LiveLove_Rico/status/589789048354537473

****

https://twitter.com/___Kamo/status/589784207402086400

****

https://twitter.com/dopexolatina/status/589223305975967745

****

https://twitter.com/ruinedpicnic/status/585127544191635456

****

****

****


67 Responses to “140 Characters Of Hump Day Laughter”


  1. 1 almablanca
    April 22, 2015 at 9:54 pm

    Thanks Nerdy. Always fun and smart!

  2. April 22, 2015 at 9:57 pm

    That dog …… I will NEVER stop laughing. Ever. Thank yoooooooou Nerdyaroo!!

  3. April 22, 2015 at 10:04 pm

    “Open the door, Keisha…” 😸😸😸. “We’re alligators, Gary..” 😹😹😹😹 “You Caucasian?” 😹😹😹😹😹😹 The girl is making her point! Thanks, Nerdy, that was just what I needed after a day that started great, continued to weird, and ended as a big, hairy, awful MESS! I will now consider not beginning a hermit. Much as, much as, gracias!

  4. April 22, 2015 at 10:05 pm

    Congrats, Almablanca!

    Can’t wait!

  5. April 22, 2015 at 10:07 pm

  6. April 22, 2015 at 10:08 pm

  7. April 22, 2015 at 10:08 pm

    Oh and my apologies for blowing right past you, Casablanca, without stopping to congratulate you on your gold!👑🌼🌼🌻🌺🌻🌼 Have a crown and a bouquet

  8. April 22, 2015 at 10:10 pm

  9. April 22, 2015 at 10:16 pm

    O’Malley is starting to get on my last nerve….I gained admiration for him as DGA head frankly he b/c he wall full-throated PBO surrogate…now

  10. April 22, 2015 at 10:21 pm

    “A new species of glass frog has been discovered with translucent skin so you can see its insides. The creature, named Hyalinobatrachium dianae, was found in the mountains of eastern Costa Rica and has a distinctive call. While most of its body is a brilliant lime green, like all species of glass frogs, the skin on its underside is see-though, making its organs easily visible….

    …Lead author of the study, Dr Kubicki said: Its advertisement call is quite unique…It’s different than any other species that has been discovered.’
    The study says the frog’s ‘advertisement call’ consists of ‘a single tonal long metallic whistle-like note with a duration of 0.40–0.55 s… and a dominant frequency of 3.35–3.44 kHz’. It’s likely the frog uses it to find a mate in the mountain forests. Dr Kubicki said that the amphibian sounds more like an insect than a frog, which may explain how experts missed it during their extensive survey…continued”

  11. April 22, 2015 at 10:26 pm

  12. April 22, 2015 at 10:30 pm

  13. April 22, 2015 at 10:32 pm

    Looks like I’m talking to myself 😦 OK, GN folks!

  14. 32 jacquelineoboomer
    April 22, 2015 at 11:12 pm

    In my personal opinion, here’s an earth-shaking, extreme-grasp-of-the-obvious tweet, if I ever saw one. Sorry, but she’s calling it in. Or having somebody else call it in for her. No oomph in anything I’ve seen yet!

    • 36 jacquelineoboomer
      April 22, 2015 at 11:45 pm

      Thanks for sending that, Bob. And good evening to you!

      • April 23, 2015 at 1:12 am

        Good evening Jacqueline 🙂

        Wish I could spend more time at TOD but life’s work is demanding more and more attention.

        Hope you and all our TOD friends have a fine Thursday.

        #TrustBarack

        #TrustJoe

        They are the REAL DEAL, America ………………….

        • 38 jacquelineoboomer
          April 23, 2015 at 1:31 am

          We miss you, Bob, but will see you when things get a little less hectic for you, hopefully! Enjoy your Thursday, too.

  15. 39 jacquelineoboomer
    April 22, 2015 at 11:50 pm

    Oh boy. Good boy.

  16. 41 jacquelineoboomer
    April 23, 2015 at 12:18 am

  17. 42 theo67
    April 23, 2015 at 12:18 am

    I see Carly Fiorina is planning to announce her candidacy for President.

  18. 48 FoxfireTX
    April 23, 2015 at 12:56 am

    Good evening ToD. It was a lovely EarthDay and as always great to see PBO, particularly with the Everglades as background. And I can never get enough of FLOTUS. These are two very special people, and we have been lucky to have them for the last 6.5 years. I look forward to the remaining time they will be in the WH.

    That said, the amount of vitriol directed at other Dems–here of all places–saddens me. Yes, EW has somewhat gone off the rails on the PPT. And HRC is staying fairly bland as she slowly rolls out her campaign. BUT PBO is not running, and we will need a new president. No matter how bad any of these people are, they do not hold a candle to the horrors we would witness under another President Bush, a President Walker or heaven forbid a President Cruz. Do we really need to spend this amount of energy tearing down other Dems? There always is great conflict in the Dem party over trade agreements, it is well founded, and it is GOOD! PBO would not be fighting nearly as hard for specific provisions in this trade agreement if the Dems, unions and environmentalists had not opposed them so strongly over the years. And those folks have good reason to be wary of any trade agreement. They have lost in the past, and their fears are well founded. Anyone who started debate as far back as I did in high school 45 years ago, and continued into my profession, knows that a thinking mind can argue both sides of an issue. That doesn’t mean either side is right or wrong, it means they disagree. PBO accepts that, and it would be nice if we all sought to model some of his graciousness.

    I also was saddened to see someone tear Hillary down on healthcare. She fought for this many years ago, she has long been a supporter, and she often has credited the ACA as huge progress. I simply do not understand why this has to an either or situation. I will never forget that week when the vote was coming up, and how worried everyone was. PBO called on both Hillary and Bill to help him lobby the House and they pitched in wholeheartedly. The first person PBO went to when the vote was in for a hug was to Hillary. Why is it necessary to somehow make her long time support for healthcare a slam to PBO? She has a campaign to run and MUST tout her accomplishments. I am not a Hillary supporter, I have never been able stand Bill, but at the same time can be objective about what she is doing here.

    Frankly, given the vitriol here, I am becoming increasingly concerned that we will end up with a Republican president because by the time this is said and done, the Dems will be so tired of fighting amongst themselves they will stay home. And without a strong primary, it is going to be difficult to GOTV in any event. Given the Rs control all of Congress, I shudder to think of the consequences. I would like to see us focus animosity on the GOP. Believe me, they in their entirety NEVER miss a chance to slam any Dem. On this behavior at least, I suggest we follow their example. As PBO always reminds us, agree or not on specific issues Dems are family and we should not be eating our own. We have lost a ton of ground in the last decade, particularly in the state houses. We simply cannot continue in this vein and think it will benefit us over the long term.

    OK, off my soapbox:-) Good night everyone.

    • 49 jacquelineoboomer
      April 23, 2015 at 2:18 am

      I’m tired, but thought I’d respond before I forget to do so tomorrow! In my opinion, and I can only speak for myself, you’re just as entitled to your soapbox, FoxfireTX, as any of us are, and more power to you. Always enjoy hearing your thoughts.

      I see TOD much differently, though, in that it appears to me to be more an oasis where all of us may say why we agree or do not agree with any political issue on the table, or any potential Democratic candidate or current elected official. (The “oasis” part is mostly because Chips will not allow RWNJs to post at TOD, of course, which is why most of us have been and are still here enjoying President Obama’s two terms!) And most of us have personal favorites among Democrats other than the President, for whatever reason (including the states we come from, how much we know of their platforms, etc.), and because we are paying attention, in general!

      Most of us have pretty thick skins, too, and can take hearing somebody’s alternate position on an issue (or a Democrat or a DINO) fly back at us. Seems to me the only person we all agree on supporting 1000 percent is President Obama. After that, we may dance to a different song, but our hearts are in the right place, I think. Nobody here wants a Republican in the White House. Nobody. I’d bet a box of chocolates on that. And I could feel the angst in your words about it, so I know you are as sincere as we are.

      I have made up my mind to try to not personally go on twitter and initiate a scathing blast about any Democrat who may be running in 2016 (although I will R/T some – not all – of the negatives, to remind people), and might even temper my own thoughts here (because I realize everybody is still churning all of it through their own minds, as well, and some already support someone I don’t). Yet, as Chips has inspired us to do, I still feel we are able to strike a balance at TOD between being afraid to say something that may be “unpopular” about HRC or EW or any other candidate or potential candidate or issue … and adding some of the points we as individual voters wish to put forth that may not be known to all. I don’t consider that a debate, as much as I consider it a sharing of views – okay, and maybe a little encouragement to join our individual “team.”

      Truthfully, I can’t sit quiet and not comment at all here about HRC, although I definitely temper what I write … my wounds from South Carolina ’08 where she and Bill really showed their true colors regarding candidate Barack Obama will never go away. Doesn’t matter how great a campaign she runs through ’16, because I’d only vote for her if she were the only Democrat running in the general.

      In the meantime, through tired eyes, I may have missed any mention of Joe Biden in your comment, so with my own voice, I’d ask you to consider him as a candidate – if he runs. He has none of the HRC baggage or the problems of being a “one-note” candidate as some others do. He has a gazillion positives. And if we were “only” allowed to support HRC here, I wouldn’t have been able to make that pitch, but I am definitely #RidinWithBiden – if he runs – and thought I’d slide it in!

      #TrustJoe

      And good night to you and TOD!

      • 50 99ts
        April 23, 2015 at 4:49 am

        Hi Jacqueline – enjoy the commentary from both you & firefoxTV – and agree it has been/continues to be a wonderful time I have spent among PBO supporters at TOD.

        I have a question – which with your long term knowledge of US politics (I never understood primaries until PBO came along) you may be able to suggest an answer.

        WHY does Hilary want to be President – Looking at the treatment given to PBO by the GOP and the media – and to Bill Clinton – and looking that she is of an age with you and I – I cannot imagine why she wants to go through this again – other than for the “pomp and glory” of the White House and AF1 or maybe a 3rd term for Bill. Would really appreciate your opinion, cause there must surely be some other reason for her to do this.

        • 51 jacquelineoboomer
          April 23, 2015 at 12:44 pm

          Just seeing this, and will answer a little later when I’m a bit more awake! Not sure I have an “answer,” per se, but I’ll try to share a thought or two. 🙂

      • April 23, 2015 at 9:34 am

        I wholly concur. Thank you for so elegantly stating this, JO’B.

    • 56 theo67
      April 23, 2015 at 2:56 am

      FoxfireTX – I wish you would share your excellent commentary with the HRC and Warren supporters who have decided to campaign against the President, even though we have six-plus years of Republican damaging policies. I wish those supporters were focusing on pointing out the differences between Democrats and Republicans, and pointing to the gains made under this Administration, rather than tweeting out messages like we saw from Karen Finney last week that HRC would not be a continuation of the Obama Administration. I also don’t like that Twitter was flooded with Warren fans bashing the President and accusing him of somehow trying to strike a deal that will harm Americans, when evidence of the past six years has shown us that this President does everything in his power to make American lives better.

      I hear, and echo, your plea for civility and unity among the Dems. I just wish we weren’t weeks into 2016 campaigning, and having to turn our eyes already from those who think seeking GOP voters and emoprogs who will endorse anything that is anti-Obama is a winning strategy. It’s bad enough that we’re going to lose President Obama. We don’t have to smear him on the way to a new Democratic President.

    • April 23, 2015 at 8:55 am

      FireFox, I appreciate that you expressed your views on this matter, and I agree that wherever possible, civility should be the order of the day, however I’d just like to say a few things in response.

      The “vitriol against other DEMS” that you speak of, if it exists at all, is not originating on TOD – this “vitriol” has been started by the same Democrats who have decided that bashing PBO is a useful way to fundraise and/or seek & receive whatever attention of the moment they desire. We saw it in 2010; we saw it in 2014, and we’re seeing it now. Wash, rinse and repeat…

      Most of us here are merely expressing our concern – and it’s not the so-called “vitriol” on TOD that’s going to give us a GOP President. It’s the constant undermining of one of the best DEM Presidents this country has ever seen by some in his own party. It’s the compulsive need to “distance” themselves from his very effective policies based on questionable “advice” from their lobbyists, donors, and GOP- sympathizers in the media. It’s the underhanded channeling of latent racism from so-called progressives & PUMAS into a more socially- acceptable “beef” with whatever policy PBO has endorsed.

      Btw, PBO has explicitly stated that Elizabeth Warren is WRONG about the trade issue – he hasn’t “accepted” her viewpoint as merely disagreement, as you stated. And many of us could see that Warren actually twisted the facts about not knowing anything in the trade deal, which is a very divisive and juvenile approach to garnering support for her position. Therefore, I think you should direct much of your “concern” to those kinds of behaviors, which are more likely to fracture support within the Democratic Party, and not the negative but understandable reactions of TODers.

      • 59 Vicki
        April 23, 2015 at 9:16 am

        I need to add my voice to this issue, Firefox.
        I am not criticizing HRC because of the things she did right on Healthcare.
        I am mindful, however, that the day President Obama was going to announce the stupendous success of the first Obamacare Enrollment period that Clintonland chose THAT day
        Not the day before or
        the day after,
        to announce Chelsea’s pregnancy.

        This is a stone-cold fact. Yes, we will all support the eventual dem candidate. That is not the point at all.

      • April 23, 2015 at 9:41 am

        YES YES YES YES. Thank you for stating how I feel, exactly.

        I think people are worried about losing the White House and they should be. I have no doubt that everyone here will vote Dem even if it’s HRC, primarily because we feel we absolutely must do everything we can to support President Obama’s hard-fought advances and a Dem in the White House is obviously our best hope for that. But it is in fact up to the Democratic leadership and the candidate(s) to get their campaign strategy and tactics right and win votes. We have yet to see how that unfolds but so far I’m sad to say I’m extremely disheartened.

    • April 23, 2015 at 12:10 pm

      Excellent thread! Thank you Jacqueline, 99, meta, theo, hf2 & Vicki for your thoughtful responses to Foxfire’s concerns.

  19. 62 sjterrid
    April 23, 2015 at 2:31 am

    Foxfire, TX thank you. You raise some valid points. We have to learn that we don’t have to attack someone when they disagree with us on issues. It, also, plays into the media’s hand; they are very happy to make policy disagreements between dems the focus, because it drives down turn out for us & it let’s the republicans off the hook.

  20. 64 vcprezofan2
    April 23, 2015 at 9:35 am

    Okay, I’ve read ALL the discussion (check time of my comment) on the disagreement issues that Foxfire’s comment initiated. I saw valid points in EACH comment (which will help me modify my own reaction more), so I won’t add anything except this. → In addition to my real feeling on the matter, going forward, when I see a Karen Finney-type inciting Dem conflict, I’ll try to remember to use as my main response (if I choose to respond) – ‘Can you not find any difference between HRC and Republicans on which to expound?’

    Maybe if we all consistently use some variation of this approach we MAY wake up a few die-hard HRC supporters to choose their targets more artfully? I don’t know but I’ll try it for awhile.

    • 66 theo67
      April 23, 2015 at 1:09 pm

      This is such a great idea, VC!

      • 67 vcprezofan2
        April 23, 2015 at 2:26 pm

        Thanks, Theo, and Bobfr. [I’ve been dancing in and out for appointments for the entire day – heading out again in 30-40 min]

        I hope several of us try it consistently, at least for the ensuing ‘early’ months of this candidate launch. We can’t always ignore the puma-like comments, because (that would seem like a ‘cave’…. *wink. wink*) we are, like them, human and fiercely loyal. We can try to take the ‘higher’ road though, since we really do want a Dem win. I envision this trial approach being somewhat like a ‘soft answer turneth away wrath’, while at the same time pointing out a certain shortsightedness for them to be fighting a presidential legacy that is quite terrific. After all, as you pointed out in the original discussion, there is much Republican malfeasance that needs to/could be highlighted!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


@POTUS

@BarackObama

@WhiteHouse

@FLOTUS

@MichelleObama

@PeteSouza

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

@TheObamaDiary

@NerdyWonka

RSS Obama White House.gov

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS WH Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Steve Benen

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 43,429,637 hits