31
Jul
16

What True Sacrifice Looks Like

****

Ghazala Khan: Trump Criticized My Silence. He Knows Nothing About True Sacrifice

Donald Trump has asked why I did not speak at the Democratic convention. He said he would like to hear from me. Here is my answer to Donald Trump: Because without saying a thing, all the world, all America, felt my pain. I am a Gold Star mother. Whoever saw me felt me in their heart. Donald Trump said I had nothing to say. I do. My son Humayun Khan, an Army captain, died 12 years ago in Iraq. He loved America, where we moved when he was 2 years old. He had volunteered to help his country, signing up for the ROTC at the University of Virginia. This was before the attack of Sept. 11, 2001. He didn’t have to do this, but he wanted to.

The last time I spoke to my son was on Mother’s Day 2004. We had asked him to call us collect whenever he could. I begged him to be safe. I asked him to stay back, and not to go running around trying to become a hero, because I knew he would do something like that. He said, “Mom, these are my soldiers, these are my people. I have to take care of them.” He was killed by a car bomber outside the gates of his base. He died trying to save his soldiers and innocent civilians. Donald Trump said he has made a lot of sacrifices. He doesn’t know what the word sacrifice means.

More here

****


161 Responses to “What True Sacrifice Looks Like”


  1. 1 susanne
    July 31, 2016 at 6:43 pm

    Thank you for all the wonderful posts, Nerdy. All at TOD are so grateful ❤

  2. 4 99ts
    July 31, 2016 at 6:49 pm

    gm from my world. Congrats on 1st susanne. Wow I just wandered along the last thread – lots of negatives on Trump and positives on Hillary. Couldn’t help adding a few remarks along the way

  3. July 31, 2016 at 6:56 pm

    Well done Susanne and 99 🙂

    Thank you so much, NW, for featuring Ms Khan’s poignant retort to the evil creature that Trump is.

    Please excuse, everyone, but I’m going to be rather insistent on the reality of how evil Trump is and how important it is that everyone, absolutely everyone focus on #ItsTheTortureStupid!

    https://twitter.com/Our4thEstate/status/759868481303113728

    back to work …

    #FORWARD Together

    • 10 Obama Grandmama
      July 31, 2016 at 9:17 pm

      Donald,
      Besides breaking an International agreement and being against the law if we are equal in torture methods as the “savages” you speak of that makes us no better than them.

  4. 11 desertflower
    July 31, 2016 at 6:59 pm

    Just read this all to the a broad overview of the “Weasel-headed Fucknugget” or, if you prefer, ” the Cheeto-faced, ferret wearing shitgibbon ”

    Either way…people of every political stripe better Wake and Stay Woke!

    https://www.balloon-juice.com/2016/07/31/thrice-before-cock-crow/

    • 12 99ts
      July 31, 2016 at 7:35 pm

      His lies and language are worse than Palin’s. Wonder if the media will ever face this truth.

    • 13 jackiegrumbacher
      July 31, 2016 at 9:14 pm

      Df, there are millions of people so blinded by hatred and fear that nothing is going to wake them. Trump is their daddy who’s going to make things better and punish those who have upset the natural order of things. There is no negative, no level of outrageous behavior that is going to turn them against their savior. I just hope to God that there are more of us than there are of them and we all come out to vote.

      • 14 HZ
        July 31, 2016 at 9:39 pm

        “I just hope to God that there are more of us than there are of them and we all come out to vote.” Oh, I thank you jackieG for that last sentence. I pray to God for this myself. HZ

  5. 16 globalcitizenlinda
    July 31, 2016 at 7:11 pm

  6. July 31, 2016 at 7:17 pm

  7. July 31, 2016 at 7:24 pm

    WAKE UP, people.

  8. 31 MightyPamela
    July 31, 2016 at 7:27 pm

    ⭐️{{{{{ ❤️ VC ❤️ }}}}} ⭐️

  9. 32 jacquelineoboomer
    July 31, 2016 at 7:29 pm

  10. 35 globalcitizenlinda
    July 31, 2016 at 7:39 pm

    • 36 SUEDUVALLSMITH
      July 31, 2016 at 7:44 pm

      I WOULD LOVE TO FACE A DAY WTHOUT LOOKING AT THE ORANGE BLEMISH ON HUMANITY!..DUCT TAPE IT!

    • 37 globalcitizenlinda
      July 31, 2016 at 7:48 pm

      a serious message about the choices was made with humor throughout the commercial;

      also noted by me:

      – President HRC would be sleeping in an attire, ready to go (including pearls);

      – that “bird thingie” or “rodent thingie” that DT calls hair;

      – comment by the voice of how all these serious decisions are being made while people are beginning to miss PBO already

    • 38 canadabarb4obama
      July 31, 2016 at 8:59 pm

      heard it on local Vancouver radio station; afterwards, I thought: hope this plays non stop in USA!!!!

    • 40 cd4biden
      July 31, 2016 at 11:21 pm

      I was stunned to find myself crying when Leah brought us to the Oval Office and said, “Here we are at the Oval Office, the distinguished office of the President. With the President working here each day I’m sure you can imagine what goes on inside.” All I could think of is all the wonderful things our dear POTUS has accomplished and handled in that space. All the people he has met with, the problems solved. I know Hillary will make a great President, but it will not be the same as our having Barack Obama occupying that space. How I will is him and his family.

  11. 41 SUEDUVALLSMITH
    July 31, 2016 at 7:53 pm

    RE:CARTOON….THE DOG IS TOO GOOD FOR HIM!

  12. July 31, 2016 at 7:55 pm

    https://twitter.com/MazMHussain/status/759573678480887808

    • 43 jacquelineoboomer
      July 31, 2016 at 10:36 pm

      Thank you for these tweets, LP. And speaking of Trump, what total IDIOT would not know that certain venues have capacity limits and a responsible fire marshal would be required to adhere to those, for the SAFETY of Trump’s bottom-feeder attendees.

  13. July 31, 2016 at 7:55 pm

    • 45 jackiegrumbacher
      July 31, 2016 at 9:24 pm

      Why on earth is this happening? The people of Flint pay for trash pickup with their taxes.

      • 46 Dudette
        July 31, 2016 at 9:59 pm

        Contract with vendor expired. Mayor wanted to replace them with his hand-picked company. City council wanted info on new company before agreeing. Mayor refused. So no trash pickup until deadlock over vendor is resolved. They’re saying it should be resolved by Tuesday.

      • 47 cd4biden
        July 31, 2016 at 11:29 pm

        Call the state dept of health. I had a similar thing many years ago with a nasty landlord of an apt building I lived in. The tenant on the bottom floor moved out. Come to find out he got discounted rent for opening the basement door each week for garbage pickup. With him gone there was no pickup. I called the landlord several times and he said I’d have to live with it. So I called the Health Dept and told them I was in a neighboring building that looked out onto the backyard of my apt complex. I said I could see a huge pile of garbage and rats running around. Funny how 2 days later the garbage was gone. Now it may not happen as quickly these days, but it is worth a try.

  14. July 31, 2016 at 7:58 pm

    Scottie Nell Hughes said Donald Trump “sacrificed” his 2 marriages to make America better
    Published on Jul 31, 2016

  15. July 31, 2016 at 8:03 pm

    MH: Last time we spoke, you told me about some really frustrating experiences you had on the road that you felt were definitely related to being a woman of color. Do you want to talk a little bit about those?

    SS: There were multiple instances. There were places where I literally I couldn’t get in. I would go to the door, the staff entrance, and people would say, “This is staff only.” I’d have to explain to them that I was staff, and they would question me. I would have to say, “I’m the national press secretary. Did you watch me on the news the other day?” It was consistently happening. There was one week where it happened the entire week. My breaking point was a time when I had let the event staff know I was having trouble getting in places and asked them if they could just really make an extra effort for this particular day, because it had been a long week. Like, “Could you please just let folks know that I’m coming and that I’m black?” You don’t think you’d have to say those things, but I said, “Let them know there’s going to be a black girl that’s going to come to the front and please let her in.” So I got past the first few checkpoints, but then I pulled into a parking spot and a gentleman came running up to my car, banging on my window, yelling all kinds of profanity and expletives, telling me to get the F out of here, this is for staff, and that I didn’t belong back here. I broke down in the car. I cracked my window down and I said, “I’m the national press secretary!” I was just crying. Eventually someone came down and let me in.

    https://twitter.com/erinruberry/status/759364592518692864

  16. July 31, 2016 at 8:11 pm

    https://twitter.com/BuzzFeedAndrew/status/759599458703253504

    Jill Stein, down 3pts to a dead silverback gorilla….

    Don’t know if anybody posted this….but I leave you with this gem:

    https://twitter.com/McJesse/status/759097584531243008

    Hope everyone had a wonderful weekend!

  17. 64 arapaho415
    July 31, 2016 at 8:20 pm

    GE TODville.

    Good to see posts here about Trump’s “national chairman of the presidential campaign of Donald Trump” Paul Manafort.

    Drives me nuts that MSM will use a bullhorn to “report” whatever’s on Drudge today or Benghazi! HRC emails!, yet fail to adequately inform their audience of Trump and Manafort’s ties to Putin, which is a far more serious concern when casting a ballot for President of the United States.

    Another Iraq WMD fairy tale in the making.

    Posted this on the previous thread, but take a moment to read through the text attached to @KevinMaddenDC’s tweet — Trump literally says “I wasn’t involved with” softening the RNC platform on Ukraine — the same excuse he used for the RNC itself — he “wasn’t involved.”

    We simply can’t elect another GWB who delegates governing this country to someone else (in Trump’s case, to Manafort or whoever Putin chooses).

  18. 66 jacquelineoboomer
    July 31, 2016 at 8:31 pm

    My new hobby: starting rumors.

  19. July 31, 2016 at 8:35 pm

    Jenice Armstrong, Daily News Columnist,,writes It Will Be A Sad Day When First Lady Michelle Obama leaves the White House. I agree 100% Jenice.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  20. July 31, 2016 at 8:45 pm

  21. July 31, 2016 at 9:00 pm

  22. 83 FoxfireTX
    July 31, 2016 at 9:10 pm

    Is it possible, between the Russia issues and Trump’s attacks on the Khan family, that he finally has gone too far? I don’t know how long this story will stay in the news cycle, but I am pretty stunned at the vehemence of the reaction. Here’s hoping he has been been revealed for who he is.

    • 84 jackiegrumbacher
      July 31, 2016 at 9:41 pm

      I don’t think there is a ‘too far’ for Trump and his supporters and the media bows to their corporate owners who are longing to get richer with Trump’s proposed tax cuts. What happens to the rest of us or to the country itself is irrelevant to them.

      • 85 cd4biden
        August 1, 2016 at 12:02 am

        I agree jg.

      • 86 FoxfireTX
        August 1, 2016 at 12:50 am

        Not sure on this one Jackie. From what I’ve seen he may have lost a fair number of vets over this.

        • 87 cd4biden
          August 1, 2016 at 10:14 am

          What’s a few vets to him. He probably gained a few more plain ole’ white guys. This is how bullies are. They just keep doing what they are doing as long as people are too afraid to confront him, and as long as there are a few people who stand beside him.

  23. July 31, 2016 at 9:18 pm

  24. 94 Obama Grandmama
    July 31, 2016 at 9:35 pm

    I also wish Trump’s financial and business holding ties with Russia and the potential for severe conflict of interest would be investigated and reported more thoroughly.

  25. July 31, 2016 at 9:36 pm

  26. 96 No Child Left Behind
    July 31, 2016 at 9:42 pm

    She has lost more marbles than I originally estimated. Weird.

    • 97 99ts
      July 31, 2016 at 9:50 pm

      Reminders of Palin – trying to extend that 5 minutes

    • July 31, 2016 at 9:55 pm

      She is intent on destroying her political career and credibility.

      • 99 COS
        July 31, 2016 at 10:12 pm

        Just how low can this sore loser go. Totally agree Bill R. Turner’s credibility and career are already shot.

        • 100 jacquelineoboomer
          July 31, 2016 at 10:25 pm

          Truth be told, I almost see it as some type of emotional turning point for her. She started her career on an upbeat note, gained national recognition, lost her personal election, got totally hoodwinked by Bernie, then he lost … I hope she finds her way, soon. No matter how off track she’s appearing, I do have compassion for her because I think it’s just some type of emotional insecurity or immaturity. When all of us get off track a bit in our own lives, its not national news, but she can’t escape looking and acting lost in front of everyone who is paying attention.

          Not that I know her or know any of this for sure, but I’ve been trying to figure her out – since it’s all so disappointing.

      • 112 Dudette
        July 31, 2016 at 10:20 pm

        Anybody remember Georgia’s Cynthia McKinney? Nope, didn’t think so. Nina Turner is this decades version. Sigh! 🙄

    • July 31, 2016 at 11:05 pm

      Ms. Turner has really lost her mind…what a sore loser…she should have run for congress and got in the ARENA…help make change happen, instead of teaming up with a losing ticket(Stein)…and doing what Nader did in 2000…she is a HOT MESS now!!!!
      So disapointing she has become!!!!

    • July 31, 2016 at 11:34 pm

      Why isn’t Nina Turner out there fighting to get Hillary elected so some things can get done that would make a difference in people’s lives. Running for VP with Jill Stein is just a waste of time.

  27. 115 Obama Grandmama
    July 31, 2016 at 9:53 pm

    Talked to my daughter who is living and working in Germany this morning. I asked her about one of the scholarship programs she was chosen for her senior year in high school. It was called something like Young Scholars program held in the Springtime prior to graduations that sponsored a two week trip for two chosen scholars from each state in WA DC. It was highly competitive. I remembered she listened to speeches by the SCOTUS, ambassadors, Senate and House members and even the First Lady, then Hillary Clinton. Cara said HRC even talked to her individually. Her speech emphasized looking for opportunities and being open to them. Cara interned for then AK Murkowsky, the father of Lisa the summer after she graduated. There were no Democratic Senators from AK at that time. After college and law school she went to work at an International Law firm in DC. Today she told me that Mr. Khan worked at her law firm in the library maybe as an intern when in law school as that part was not clear while she worked there too. Interesting ties I was not aware of fully until my phone call today.

  28. July 31, 2016 at 9:56 pm

    Will POTUS and FLOTUS be having a State’s Dinner Tuesday?

  29. 121 desertflower
    July 31, 2016 at 10:35 pm

  30. 122 Dudette
    July 31, 2016 at 10:37 pm

    Check out this thread. Great strategy tips which I hope Clinton campaign adopts.

    Yes it does!

    There’s more in her thread.

  31. 124 Dudette
    July 31, 2016 at 10:46 pm

    https://twitter.com/bruntofitall/status/759898827763572736

  32. 127 jacquelineoboomer
    July 31, 2016 at 11:54 pm

    Never saw anything like it. It’s hard to get lots of Americans “on the same boat” about much But Trump’s giving us all the same nightmares. Well, at least people with brains and souls.

    https://twitter.com/jonfavs/status/759837558012383234

  33. 128 jacquelineoboomer
    August 1, 2016 at 12:07 am

    Too tired to read this tonight, but looks very interesting. Sweet dreams, TODville – as long as we don’t think about Trump!

  34. 129 FoxfireTX
    August 1, 2016 at 12:52 am

    And here we go with the Trump playbook. Remember when he asserted that Judge Curiel belonged to some questionable organization and how that worked out for him?

  35. August 1, 2016 at 12:58 am

  36. August 1, 2016 at 1:07 am

  37. 133 Dudette
    August 1, 2016 at 1:18 am

    Actually I remember this!

    Bush Fails Quiz on Foreign Affairs
    By Glen Johnson
    Associated Press Writer
    Thursday, Nov. 4, 1999; 6:10 p.m. EST

    WASHINGTON –– Texas Gov. George W. Bush was hit with a surprise quiz on foreign affairs and scored only 25 percent.

    The Republican presidential front-runner sat down Wednesday with WHDH-TV, the NBC affiliate in Boston, and was asked to name the leaders of four current world hot spots: Chechnya, Taiwan, India and Pakistan.

    He was able to give a partial response to just one: Taiwan.

    That drew immediate criticism from the camp of Democrat Al Gore, which said the vice president could have answered all four correctly.

    “I guess we know that ‘C’ at Yale was a gentleman’s ‘C,'” said Gore spokesman Chris Lehane, referring to the way Bush has described his academic record.

    The Bush campaign brushed off the incident.

    “The person who is running for president is seeking to be the leader of the free world, not a Jeopardy contestant,” said Karen Hughes, Bush communications director.

    “I would venture to guess that 99.9 percent of most Americans and probably most candidates could not answer who is the president of Chechnya,” Hughes added.

    The questions were put to Bush by political reporter Andy Hiller during a break in Bush’s campaigning in New Hampshire. Hiller is known locally for asking sassy questions of political leaders.

    Hiller asked: “Can you name the president of Chechnya?”

    “No, can you?” Bush replied.

    “Can you name the president of Taiwan?” Hiller asked.

    “Yeah, Lee,'” responded Bush, referring to Taiwanese President Lee Teng-hui.

    “Can you name the general who is in charge of Pakistan?” asked Hiller, inquiring about Gen. Pervaiz Musharraf, who took over last month in a military coup.

    “Wait, wait, is this 50 questions?” replied Bush.

    Hiller replied: “No, it’s four questions of four leaders in four hot spots.”

    Bush said: “The new Pakistani general, he’s just been elected – not elected, this guy took over office. It appears this guy is going to bring stability to the country and I think that’s good news for the subcontinent.”

    Hiller persisted, saying “Can you name him?”

    Bush said: “General. I can name the general. General.”

    “And the prime minister of India?” asked Hiller, inquiring about a man who was recently re-elected and who last year tested a nuclear bomb.

    Bush said: “The new prime minister of India is – no.”

    At that point, Bush responded in kind to Hiller.

    “Can you name the foreign minister of Mexico?” asked the governor, whose home state borders the Central American nation.

    The reporter replied, “No sir, but I would say to that, I’m not running for president.”

    Bush said: “What I’m suggesting to you is, if you can’t name the foreign minister of Mexico, therefore, you know, you’re not capable about what you do. But the truth of the matter is you are, whether you can or not.”… (more in the article)

  38. 135 Dudette
    August 1, 2016 at 1:30 am

  39. 136 Dudette
    August 1, 2016 at 1:40 am

  40. 137 Dudette
    August 1, 2016 at 1:41 am

  41. 138 Dudette
    August 1, 2016 at 1:42 am

  42. 139 Dudette
    August 1, 2016 at 1:43 am

  43. 140 Dudette
    August 1, 2016 at 1:48 am

    Flip It Blue!

  44. 141 Dudette
    August 1, 2016 at 2:07 am

    Yay!!!

  45. 146 Dudette
    August 1, 2016 at 2:18 am

  46. 147 Dudette
    August 1, 2016 at 2:22 am

    I’m done… I’m DED!
    LOLOLOLOLOL! 😂😂😂😂😂

    https://twitter.com/iibreaknecks/status/709837323999924224

  47. 148 Dudette
    August 1, 2016 at 2:29 am

    Goodnight & Good Morning Dear Ones!

  48. 149 Zekke LyDonna
    August 1, 2016 at 4:01 am

    People keep saying they’re afraid for Donald Trump to get intelligence.

    1. My understanding is that the President decides how much information will be shared.

    2. Briefings are a tradition, not a legal requirement.

    If I am wrong, please let me know.

    • August 1, 2016 at 7:54 am

      While it’s true that the President has the ultimate decision to determine the information in the briefings, Josh Earnest has said PBO will defer to DNI Clapper. (My guess is that he doesn’t want to get in the middle of any questions or controversyTrump may try to whip up about bias. Just my opinion.)

      Briefings are a tradition and not a requirement but when asked, Josh said that PBO’s greatest priority is the smooth transition of power so there will be briefings for both candidates.

  49. 151 No Child Left Behind
    August 1, 2016 at 6:40 am

    The Donald and Putin. Sad.

  50. 153 No Child Left Behind
    August 1, 2016 at 6:45 am

  51. 154 No Child Left Behind
    August 1, 2016 at 6:48 am

  52. 155 No Child Left Behind
    August 1, 2016 at 6:59 am

  53. August 1, 2016 at 7:20 am

    Folks on CBS Morning show are saying the “accumulation” of things Trump has said ‘may’ be catching up with him and ‘may’ be a bridge too far. Sure, right? I say that there’s nothing he can say or do that will be a bridge too far.

  54. August 1, 2016 at 7:54 am


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


@POTUS

@BarackObama

@WhiteHouse

@FLOTUS

@MichelleObama

@PeteSouza

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

@TheObamaDiary

@NerdyWonka

RSS Obama White House.gov

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS WH Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Steve Benen

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 43,430,994 hits