04
Jul
13

Fireworks Time

6:0: President Obama Speaks at the Fourth of July Celebration

8:10: The Fourth of July Celebration Entertainment and Fireworks at the White House

White House Live * CBS

****

****


132 Responses to “Fireworks Time”


  1. 1 vcprezofan2
    July 4, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    HI, I’m ready!

  2. 14 vcprezofan2
    July 4, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    And Congrats again, you millionairess, you!

  3. July 4, 2013 at 5:49 pm

    I feel bad, clicked on the CBS link and I thought it was the crowd at the White House…. but it’s Tahrir Square.

  4. 16 utaustinliberal
    July 4, 2013 at 5:49 pm

    1st!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (In Chips-ish time)

  5. 21 utaustinliberal
    July 4, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    White House streaming is live!

  6. July 4, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    The 4th of July with our beloved First Family has begun!

    http://www.whitehouse.gov/live/

  7. 23 utaustinliberal
    July 4, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    BREAKING NEWS: Pres. Obama is wearing a salmon shirt. Shut the front door!!!! Say bye bye to Blue. Very stylish!

  8. 24 Layla
    July 4, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    Love the new shirt!!!! and the man himself, of course!

  9. 25 vcprezofan2
    July 4, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    Okay, so Dotster and Hopefruit – I see the President decided to humour you.

  10. July 4, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    Are the people behind him under orders to look grim?

  11. 30 anniebella
    July 4, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    New shirt for POTUS, new color.

  12. 32 vcprezofan2
    July 4, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    Okay, who chose those sober-sides to stand behind the Obamas? They can’t even clap? 🙄

    • July 4, 2013 at 6:05 pm

      Really! No kidding! They look grim!

      • 34 vcprezofan2
        July 4, 2013 at 6:09 pm

        I guess the heard me. After a while I noticed some half-hearted clapping. 😉

        • July 4, 2013 at 8:46 pm

          Very half-hearted! I know they were chosen to be up there because of the special things they had done, but except for Yberra (who looked friendly) I wondered if they were not Obama supporters. Mostly because I really can’t imagine anyone getting to stand that close to POTUS and FLOTUS and not grinning maniacally from ear to ear a la Red Tie Guy.

          • 36 vcprezofan2
            July 4, 2013 at 8:51 pm

            Maybe they were hurting. /shrug/ I actually forgot them as soon as they left the stage, whereas I still remember Mr. Red Tie. 😀 😀 I was thinking about you while on the road today and wondering if you have a daily ‘storytime’ as part of your ss day, or at least once weekly.

            • July 4, 2013 at 9:04 pm

              Hi, vc, I school I have several regular storytimes daily! This summer program is built around games to reinforce skills. This week it’s math and I have a lot of math games for basic facts. They have to be interspersed with other activities like songs, clapping games, stories, etc., because beginning first graders can’t do ANYTHING for two hours, even ply games! Next week (Reading – will also be read alouds based around fairy tales, readers theater scripts, art projects. The last week will be the hardest because that will be writing and this will probably be their weakest area and SURELY cannot do writing activities for 2 hours! I will think about that next week when I know them a little better. Probably lots of groups stories, retelling, labeling pictures, etc. Of course they are mostly remedial kids, which means they will be more like beginning-middle Kindergartners in their skills. It will be lively! The other issue is the other person teaching a second grade group is just finishing teacher training and has no classroom experience (which might not matter as much here) and he is also training for high school! The activities I choose have to be ones he can deal with too! I have hauled half my classroom home so we have enough books, games, etc. to be going on with. Thanks for asking and thinking of me. I like an active classroom with a variety of activities and lots of stories and lots of thinking skills and discussion so that’s what I’m aiming for. Thanks for thinking of me and asking about it!

              • 38 vcprezofan2
                July 4, 2013 at 9:31 pm

                Maryl, it sounds very interesting and very active. Before you know it the weeks will have flown by. Good for you and good luck! I got confused re timing, as I wasn’t thinking you had already started.

                I confess I have the weirdest mind and body reactions. My brain always has to have something it’s tossing around and around at the oddest times, and since I don’t sleep well, night time is mostly when it comes up with all kinds of ‘problems’ heard or discussed during the day, I have figured out that if I can arrive at some kind of ‘solution’, I might fall back to sleep. Weird, IMO.

    • 41 Layla
      July 4, 2013 at 6:05 pm

      They are probably overwhelmed by standing next to this wonderful man!

  13. July 4, 2013 at 6:02 pm

    Hey Ms. Chips and TOD family, Happy Fourth of July. Ms. Chips I haven’t said this in while; You are a God blessing to so many of us. Thank you so much for what you give to us.

  14. 45 vcprezofan2
    July 4, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    Hey! Wait a minute WH.GOV, I was still listening!! 😯

  15. July 4, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    • 47 Roberta in MN
      July 4, 2013 at 7:27 pm

      LP I didn’t have a dry eye after watching that video. Thanks You. I remember when my brother came home from Viet Nam, I bawled my eyes out, we hadn’t heard from him for so long. Theses GI’s are so well received and all due to our President, V-President & First Lady & Second Lady. Love them all. Plus, we have the greatest blog site in the World, 20,000,000. Wooooot!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  16. July 4, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    CBS live streaming still going, for now:

    http://www.ustream.tv/cbsnews

    • July 4, 2013 at 6:14 pm

      That’s a nice EXCITED crowd there – just wanting to see and shake hands with our President and FLOTUS. Nice music, good food, and Mother Nature is cooperating nicely 🙂

    • 51 Anjo
      July 4, 2013 at 6:21 pm

      Happy 4th of July to all Americans real and wannabeesss
      A Fantabulous 20 millionth Day to CHIPS THE GREAT, bloggers, contributers and lurkers all, great site dedicated to a Great man Pres. B. Obama. May you have 20 million more and more….

    • 52 vcprezofan2
      July 4, 2013 at 6:22 pm

      You are a real problem solver – thank you! I gripe at 6:07 and a minute later you offer a solution. I’m sending my offspring over for lessons from you on how to make his parent happy.

      • July 4, 2013 at 6:26 pm

        😆 Trust me VC, your offspring need NO lessons from me!!

        • 54 vcprezofan2
          July 4, 2013 at 6:31 pm

          Offspring needs to pick up the SPEED of his responses when I ‘call’. He’ll answer promptly enough, but rarely moves as quickly as *I* like. You almost always move quicker than I expect. If he could learn THAT, I’d be happy. Indeed, he has picked up this new habit of replying ‘You’re too impatient, mom.” 🙄

  17. July 4, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    Love our POTUS and FLOTUS!!

  18. 57 utaustinliberal
    July 4, 2013 at 6:17 pm

    I am loooooooving Pres. Obama in salmon. Bless him or whoever picked the shirt. Nice fashion sense.

    https://twitter.com/NerdyWonka/status/352913847021080576

  19. 64 GGail
    July 4, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    Hey! The West Coast is here and I’ve brought Cheesy Puffs!!!!

  20. 79 dotster3
    July 4, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    Sitting here smiling like a big ol’ Cheshire cat, or something. I love watching our First Couple interact with the families there. I never tire of it—–both are so engaging and easy with everyone. I can’t even think about when they won’t be there any more. SOB! And——shallow alert!—–PBO has a new shirt which is a great color on him—-and the old pleated khakis have taken a break, for this day at least—-whew. And Michelle looks so cute with her hair pulled back like that—-very stylish on her. Crowd loves them, lots of cute babies getting passed around—–expecting some new great photos!

  21. 80 amk for obama
    July 4, 2013 at 6:28 pm

    Good god. 😯 😯 😯 Dood???

  22. 86 kathryn kivett
    July 4, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    You know, I can’t think of a better way to spend the 4th….have done it every year with the O’s except one b/c I had a 4th party for my family…which I have not done again….why you ask….well they can splash in the pool on the 3rd and on the 5th but the 4th is MY day with PBO and the Capital 4th….and might I say again, I sure do like that salmon shirt….

  23. July 4, 2013 at 6:44 pm

    Greetings Ms Chipsssssssss….and TOD….majorrrrr Congratsssss on another milestone….20 Million…wow…and I love that graft that shows how international TOD is….simply Amazzzzzzzing….. smiling…I love the new side bar…with the inclusion of the……… Blog Tyrants..i feel that there should be some sound effects when you say that…..smiliin

    about myself….I was just released from the hospital yesterday…I missed being able to check in at TOD (phone not the best to get internet)…esp as the events went down in Egypt…I missed all the President’s trip to Africa….sigh….

    but I am doing much better….moving slowwwwwwww…..but feeling grateful…..

    Have a Great 4th….

    First time in my 60 yrs of life….I have American Flags on my windows,…brings to mind this poem of the great Langston Hughes

    I, Too, Sing America
    by Langston Hughes

    I, too, sing America.

    I am the darker brother.
    They send me to eat in the kitchen
    When company comes,
    But I laugh,
    And eat well,
    And grow strong.

    Tomorrow,
    I’ll be at the table
    When company comes.
    Nobody’ll dare
    Say to me,
    “Eat in the kitchen,”
    Then.

    Besides,
    They’ll see how beautiful I am
    And be ashamed—

  24. 96 amk for obama
    July 4, 2013 at 6:58 pm

  25. 102 Nena20409
    July 4, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    Mount Rushmore in SD

  26. 108 PrayerWarriorforObama
    July 4, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    Happy 4th of July to the TOD family from the USA. Here’s hoping that your day of celebration has been a wonderful blessing to you thus far.

    Mega congratulations to Chips for reaching that blog milestone of 20 million hits. What a superstar you are along with your ever so accomplished team!

    Thank you for affording us, non-Americans, the privilege to travel with your beloved President to Europe and then the African continent. What an outstanding job TOD did with those photos and live coverage!

    May TOD continue to thrive and prosper, and may the next 20 million hits happen even faster than the first set.

  27. 109 Nena20409
    July 4, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    Amaranth pink…….that is the color of the shirt I think that POTUS is sporting this fine 4th.

  28. 113 amk for obama
    July 4, 2013 at 7:19 pm

  29. 116 arapaho415
    July 4, 2013 at 7:24 pm

  30. July 4, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    Congratulations, Chips and TOD!

  31. July 4, 2013 at 7:25 pm

    Oh Beautiful for Spacious skies. . .

  32. 124 dotster3
    July 4, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    Deep thought: Wonder if they serve beer at the WH festivities.

  33. July 4, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    It’s not just you, God too is indulging in the food on our holiday.

  34. 128 amk for obama
    July 4, 2013 at 7:43 pm

  35. 129 kasai
    July 4, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    I believe President Obama has smiled on this blog about 20,000,000 times and counting…

    I am smiling for you Chips…:-) ….The Power of Love…You Truly are!

    Yekenielei = Thank you

  36. 132 Jovie
    July 4, 2013 at 9:48 pm


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


@POTUS

@BarackObama

@WhiteHouse

@FLOTUS

@MichelleObama

@PeteSouza

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

@TheObamaDiary

@NerdyWonka

RSS Obama White House.gov

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS WH Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Steve Benen

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 43,431,135 hits