Archive for January 5th, 2019

05
Jan
19

Q&A With The First Lady

****

The Guardian

How did your mother, Marian Robinson, help you to be effective as a first lady?
Carole King, singer-songwriter

My mother helped me in very practical ways, like riding with Malia and Sasha to and from school when they were little, and caring for them at home when Barack and I had to be away for an event or an international conference. It was such a relief to know that she was always there as our backstop. And the girls loved it, too. Grandma’s rules were a little more lax than they were when I was growing up. I would sometimes ask her, “Where was that attitude when I was growing up?” She’d just laugh the way she always does. She loves being a grandmother. Beyond the practical side, though, my mom was my support in even deeper ways. She was often home when I’d come back to the residence after a day of work, sitting in her chair, watching Judge Judy or something like that. We’d just chat about everything – what she’d heard from the girls, how my day was going, anything that was on my mind.

****

Were there any rooms in the White House that you weren’t allowed into? Why not?
Otis Barkey and Aston Barnes, both 10, Abel Smith primary school, Hertford

I love the way you think! The White House was our daughters’ home for most of their childhood. They lived there longer than any other house we’ve lived in. And I wanted to make sure that they felt like we lived in a home, not a museum. So it was important to me that we could go wherever we wanted in the White House – no restrictions!

****

What’s the one moment you wish you could freeze in time?
Katy Perry, singer

I’m not one for a lot of nostalgia, honestly. I don’t spend a lot of time looking back or pining for what used to be. But that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t mind revisiting that summer when I first met Barack. It was magic. My father was still with us. I was living back home in Chicago and was exploring the world as a young professional. And then, this brilliant summer associate shows up, slowly chipping away at my defenses and eventually winning me over with his perspective, his grounded nature, his sense of humor. And oh, that smile

More here

****




@POTUS

@BarackObama

@WhiteHouse

@FLOTUS

@MichelleObama

@PeteSouza

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

@TheObamaDiary

@NerdyWonka

RSS Obama White House.gov

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS WH Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Steve Benen

  • What you missed on Day 5 of Trump's hush money trial
  • Mitt Romney: You don't pay someone $130,000 not to have sex with you
  • Billionaire donors rethinking Columbia University support
  • How Amazon rose to the top of the tech world
  • John Heilemann joins Puck as chief political columnist
  • Young people have every reason to be enraged, says 'Algebra of Wealth' author
  • Senate will approve foreign aid package passed by House, says senator
  • Women using Ozempic report unexpected pregnancies
  • Crown Prince of Iran says regime has turned country into the North Korea of the Middle East
  • Trump calls on his supporters to protest in NYC, but he's not getting the circus he wants

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 43,425,785 hits
January 2019
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

WH Flickr