27
Aug
13

Chat Away

@petesouza: Pres Obama meets w mayors from across the country to discuss reducing youth violence

****


112 Responses to “Chat Away”


  1. 1 vitaminlover
    August 27, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    I love my President!

  2. 30 GGail
    August 27, 2013 at 6:44 pm

    Twin winners!!!
    Congrats VL & AB

  3. 31 Nena20409
    August 27, 2013 at 6:44 pm

    Congrats VL and Almablanca………double Gold.

  4. 32 hopefruit2
    August 27, 2013 at 6:44 pm

  5. August 27, 2013 at 6:48 pm

    Hey Admiral what’s wrong with the WordPress? It keeps asking me to fill in details every time I comment and the fields are all populated!

  6. 40 hopefruit2
    August 27, 2013 at 6:48 pm

    Heh — as they say, no weapon formed against PBO shall prosper…. 🙂 🙂

  7. August 27, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    As I’ve listened to the current debate about cruise missiles/no cruise missiles, I suspect we’re once again missing the point. The question we should be asking is “what is the goal in Syria and what are the options for reaching that goal?” That’s the discussion I’m sure the President has been having.

  8. August 27, 2013 at 6:53 pm

    I don’t see Rahm at that table.

  9. 45 jacquelineoboomer
    August 27, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    I will try to make this my last mention of that turd, but the pet name for him cracked me up and I’m goin’ for the laugh:

  10. 46 Puddin'
    August 27, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    (CA) Oakland Mayor Jean Quan is not interested in reducing violence. She is not beloved in Oakland…we can’t wait until the next election to get her out of the way!

  11. August 27, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    Evening TOD.

    BTW, I ‘m loving that FLOTUS let the bangs grow out.

  12. 56 desertflower
    August 27, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    Congrats, VL:) I’m bringing this over here for others to read and pass along. AARP is informing people about Obamacare. In English AND Spanish:)

    AARP helping people and answering healthcare law questions: http://healthlawanswers.aarp.org/?cmp=RDRCT-HLA_JUN13_013

    In Spanish: MiLeyDeSalud.org http://healthlawanswers.aarp.org/es/?cmp=RDRCT-MDSHLA_JUN13_013

    Can you guys please pass this around?? Thanks!!

  13. August 27, 2013 at 7:42 pm

    This gave me something to consider – briefly.

  14. August 27, 2013 at 7:42 pm

    6:0 EDT

    • August 27, 2013 at 8:14 pm

      DF,

      What the heck is happening with the AZ weather?

      You’re getting dust storms AND monsoonal flooding AT THE SAME TIME?

      How is that even possible?

      From yesterday:

      http://www.azcentral.com/weather/articles/20130826dust-storm-warning-maricopa-pinal.html

      • 68 desertflower
        August 27, 2013 at 10:24 pm

        Sorry for the delay, Arapaho…I laid down for a little nap. Didn’t sleep too well after the surgery yesterday. I kept worrying that my husband was going to turn over and smack me, or elbow me or otherwise disturb the side of my mouth where I had the surgery and I was awake most of the night…..the things we do for love:) I should have slept on the couch!
        Az weather has been strange. The summer monsoons have been odd (don’t forget, NO global warming!!) We’ve had more dust storms this year alone than all the years I’ve been here put together! Aside from the huge gullywasher of a rainstorm we had last month where the street in front of my house ran like a raging river…we’ve had little to no rain in my neck of the woods. Very odd indeed. I have no explanation for this ( can’t be global warming though!) We had flood warnings for yesterday….but no rain. Very odd indeed!

        Funny that you asked about these dust storms we’ve been having frequently…my dad asked me the same thing a couple weeks ago when he saw one on the news. They really are quite nasty….allergy sufferers, or people that have respiratory issues must have a hell of a time! To think that years ago, Dr’s used to tell people to come to AZ if they suffered from allergies! I never HAD allergies until I moved here! Big wall of dust and wind. Really disgusting.

  15. August 27, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    Awesome! Thanks for the FP Anne!

    Just in case anyone wanted to know about the time of POTUS speech before the Lincoln Memorial, here’s some info from the WHPC:

    ‏@markknoller 27m
    Pres. Obama addresses the “Let Freedom Ring” event on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial at 305pm. Expect live network & cable coverage.

    Also too, apparently, this happened: https://twitter.com/donnabrazile/status/372504171620347904

    Hmmm, how’s that outreach working for ya (in my best Sarah Palin grifta voice), GOP.

    • August 27, 2013 at 7:53 pm

      • 71 carolyn
        August 27, 2013 at 8:13 pm

        Someone on the twitter line asked for specific names and references for those invited. Knowing protocol, I am sure both Bushes were invited, as they are former presidents……..much as I hate to admit it. However, I’m sure the elder doesn’t want to attend such an event in a wheelchair, and if you were GWB…..would you want to speak at the Lincoln Memorial, on the same stage as POB…..the ultimate speaker of our time??? Just idle speculation, but they would have been invited. Don’t know who else with an R after his name…..because it would be HIS name as an R……turned it down. Would be interesting to know. Someone else on the twitter line stated the obvious: how stupid it is that no R is speaking…….people will certainly notice.

      • 73 sherijr
        August 27, 2013 at 8:55 pm

        well I won’t miss them 🙂

  16. August 27, 2013 at 8:04 pm

    That desire for revenge is now tearing apart the Republican party. They are finally where we wanted them all along – where their Obama Derangement Syndrome is diving them rather than uniting them. One side is licking their wounds and is ready to make a last stance (and take down the country with them), and the other is deathly afraid because they know they’ll lose again. One side wants war; the other side knows it can’t be won. One side wants to rain down economic terrorism, and the other is looking for ways to repair its schoolyard-bully image that doesn’t seem to sit well with voters. One side wants a rematch, and the other knows it has seen this movie before.

  17. 75 JER
    August 27, 2013 at 8:10 pm

    LIVE NOW: http://www.c-span.org/Live-Video/C-SPAN/ – Awaiting arrival of Congressman Lewis …

    Kalb Report Series Remembers March on Washington
    Fifty years after the historic March on Washington, moderator Marvin Kalb and a panel of legendary civil rights leaders, journalists & scholars explore the civil rights movement. The group also explores how to apply those lessons in the digital age.

  18. August 27, 2013 at 8:18 pm

  19. August 27, 2013 at 8:19 pm

    The casual racism of white Cubans of a certain age, even at this point in my life, never ceases to stupefy me.

    One of our semi-regular patrons is a white Cuban, probably in his late sixties, and in general is a lovely man. I was busy yesterday weeding books and moving them around, so I didn’t have time to talk to him. He just came up to the reference desk to say hi and chit chat, and started off by saying “Te vi trabajando como un negro.” Translated, “You were working like a n*****”. I mean, really, how can you respond to that and maintain a professional demeanor? And this is a common view among the older generation. It’s ingrained. I call my mom out on it, and she’s vastly improved. But my aunt and uncle, as much as I love them, are lost causes.

    • August 27, 2013 at 8:23 pm

      It’s grim LL, I hear it all the time, “you’re working like a black”, from people who never stop to think about what they’re saying.

      • 80 Dakota
        August 27, 2013 at 8:28 pm

        And yet, we’re also stereotyped as being lazy. Real schizo BS.

        • August 27, 2013 at 8:31 pm

          Exactly Dakota, that always struck me too about the expression, the bigots seriously need to make up their minds.

        • August 27, 2013 at 8:49 pm

          It’s a slur about working in a demeaning job that no one with dignity would want. A job that has no future of a promotion or increase in pay. The truth is, as POTUS pointed out in his interview this morning on TJMS, these jobs are performed with dignity despite no upward mobility because of the character of those who perform them. It’s a green light for exploitation.

        • August 27, 2013 at 8:54 pm

          Yeah, he qualified his statement by saying that in Cuba they don’t say that as blacks are notoriously lazy.

  20. August 27, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    Had lots of people in my twitter timeline excited about Ed’s weekday return…

  21. 91 MightyPamela
    August 27, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    Ok, totally O/T, I know I am slow but what’s all the brouhaha about Miley Cyrus?? And, do I need to know??

    • 92 sherijr
      August 27, 2013 at 8:51 pm

      No you don’t really need to know… but since I had to google “twerking” let me tell ya about it 😉 Miley did a bit of a suggestive dance, called twerking… broke a lot of eyeballs apparently- I did watch it- ’cause I had to know- it put me in mind of a burlesque show.. nothing most of us haven’t seen somewhere in our lifetimes before.. but you know the ‘media’ must go berserk.

    • 95 MightyPamela
      August 27, 2013 at 9:02 pm

      Never mind. Boring.

  22. 96 carolyn
    August 27, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    I read both Spandan’s analysis of the 2011 debt limit fight, and Smartypants’ essay on the Syrian discussion using the Libya discussions as a template. These are two excellent, thoughtful articles. I have read these two for about four years now, and have been amazed at their accuracy in forecasting and clarity in explanation. Each of them understands the president better than any MSM person. Right now the media is sure they know what the President is going to do in Syria, and are making all kinds of surmises on line. I would think that after four and a half years observing PBO, they might check themselves, and know enough not to make predictions…..but NO…..they keep spewing and advising.

    I will say that during this upcoming debt limit thing, I am very glad Jack Lew is Sec of the Treasury.

  23. 97 Dakota
    August 27, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    A 17 year old American qualifier, ranked 209, Victoria Duval just beat Samantha Stosur! She has a great game. Personal hardships…her father literally dug himself out of the rubble of the Haiti earthquake. Looking forward to seeing more of her and hearing more of her story.

  24. 102 anniebella
    August 27, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    Anyone know what time POTUS will speak tomorrow.

  25. August 27, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    So, I take it that the Syrian Electronic Army is destroying Twitter?

  26. August 27, 2013 at 8:49 pm

    GE Chips, TOD….

  27. August 27, 2013 at 8:58 pm

  28. 109 donna dem 4 obama
    August 27, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    Those on the east coast “The March” is on PBS.

  29. August 27, 2013 at 9:09 pm

  30. August 27, 2013 at 9:16 pm

    The emerging U.S. plan, then, seems to be limited strikes solely to uphold the universal prohibition on, and deter the use of chemical weapons; while simultaneously redoubling diplomatic efforts for Geneva2, likely in October.

    ***********************************

    I can only pray that this happens….the Geneva2 talks…


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


@POTUS

@BarackObama

@WhiteHouse

@FLOTUS

@MichelleObama

@PeteSouza

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

@TheObamaDiary

@NerdyWonka

RSS Obama White House.gov

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS WH Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Steve Benen

  • Israel launches strike inside Iran
  • 'Under the Bridge' builds the world around victims in a compassionate way, says actress
  • Sen. Coons: I'm relieved to hear Speaker Johnson speak clearly, forcefully
  • Jordanian Minister: If Israel retaliates we will face the abyss of regional war
  • Biden is leading among younger voters in new polling
  • Seated juror dismissed in Trump hush money trial
  • Kennedy family members to endorse Biden over RFK Jr.
  • Joe: GOP investigation of Biden is 'political garbage'
  • When Trump critics come crawling back
  • 'It's just such a lie': Joe calls out Bill Barr for saying a second Biden term is 'national suicide'

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 43,424,871 hits