29
Mar
12

rooting again for collegekay

Link

Link

Saturday at midnight is the deadline for donations to the grassroots fundraising challenge, the winner of which gets a phone call from President Obama.

And holy smoley, look who’s still leading: our very own Collegekay …. but Marilyn is closing in.

The person with the most contributions from unique donors wins – so even if you could just donate a very small amount that would be completely great.

If Collegekay wins, I think she might just let us know about her call from the President 😉


44 Responses to “rooting again for collegekay”


  1. 1 LDS
    March 29, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    I will donate……I promise

  2. March 29, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    In did and will do again. But I think the donations they count are unique donations. So donating under the same name twice still only counts for 1.

  3. 7 0388jojothecat
    March 29, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    2nd, I will donate again later today. I so want another celebrity at TOD who will get a call from the President.

  4. 8 0388jojothecat
    March 29, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    Chips, why do we have to keep logging in? I read what you posted as an explanation but I still don’t understand because I don’t ever log off.

    • 9 Liberal Librarian
      March 29, 2012 at 2:35 pm

      That’s weird. I stay logged on on my home and office computers. I get logged off here on the reference computer, but that’s because we don’t save history on it. You may want to check that.

    • March 29, 2012 at 2:36 pm

      Hi JoJo, it’s all because of a ridiculous change WordPress made to logging-in on their blogs, it’s caused complete havoc. Norbrook posted about it recently too:

      Administrative Note – Commenting Problems?

      Everyone’s pleading with them to go back to the way it was, it’s a mess, and judging by their support forum it’s still causing huge problems. Crazy stuff.

      • 11 a4alice
        March 29, 2012 at 2:43 pm

        hey chips look at your email i sent you somethin

        • March 29, 2012 at 2:45 pm

          Chips, your email is busy today. For those that keep ahving to log in, there should be box to check off to keep you logged in. If you check that box, there should be no problem unless you switch to a different computer.

      • 13 0388jojothecat
        March 29, 2012 at 2:59 pm

        Thanks LL and Chips, I checked the “remember me” box, maybe that will help too. I am one of those people that as I get older, change frustrates me.

      • 14 yardarm756
        March 29, 2012 at 5:15 pm

        See what happens when you leave? You come back and hot damn! It gets busier than a one-armed paper hanger with crabs…..:ooops:

  5. 15 collegekay
    March 29, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    Thanks chips. It’s difficult this time because I think they only count unique donors.

  6. 19 JER
    March 29, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    I will donate. Best wishes collegekay!

  7. 20 cathy2va
    March 29, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    Will donate today to help a fellow TODer!

  8. March 29, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    Can somebody confirm something for me? I think that if Kay wins (which we are all hoping for) PBO cannot use the WH phone system to make the call. Remember when folks won the dinner with him, they didn’t eat at the WH because that would be interpreted as using government services for campaign use. I think he will have to use his own cell phone or something. I my be wrong (in fact probably am).

    • 22 collegekay
      March 29, 2012 at 2:51 pm

      Really? I didn’t know that. very interesting

      Donna dem said when he called her it said “This is the White House Operator please hold for President Obama”

    • 23 donna dem 4 obama
      March 29, 2012 at 2:53 pm

      My call said, “This is the White House Operator please hold for the President”. It was a 202 area code from here in the District. I didn’t dare ring it back to see who would answer so I am not sure which phone he used 🙂

    • March 29, 2012 at 2:58 pm

      That is the Hatch law!

    • 26 0388jojothecat
      March 29, 2012 at 3:01 pm

      Maybe they can monitor which calls are non-official business and ones that are and the campaign will reimburse them or maybe it’s routed through the campaign telephone, phone companies can do some amazing things these days.

  9. 27 LDS
    March 29, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    Is being FIRST the same as being UNIQUE? Thank you, Chips.

    Can anyone tell me where I can get a patch made like the pic up above? I have a worn denim skirt that I would like to put that patch on. I would appreciate any suggestions.
    Our President is always working for us. That damn Congress just makes me sick. I am surprise that they are even in town.

  10. March 29, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    Well, the Senate approved Highway funding by unanimous consent, until June 30th.
    Onto the Presidents desk, until the next round of games.

  11. March 29, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    The Obama Administration is betting big — some $200 million a year — on a trend that’s been the talk of the tech industry for the past decade or so: “Big data” a name given to the increasingly large and unwieldy sets of data about all sorts of systems — from Earth’s climate to consumer behavior to traffic patterns — that computers are capable of collecting, storing and analyzing.

    Putting these large sets of data to their most effective uses has been a challenge of engineers, companies and policymakers alike, but the White House is counting on six federal agencies to get a handle on the situation, even comparing the newly announced initiative to the federal funding that birthed the prototype of the internet.

    “In the same way that past federal investments in information-technology R&D led to dramatic advances in supercomputing and the creation of the internet, the initiative we are launching today promises to transform our ability to use Big Data for scientific discovery, environmental and biomedical research, education, and national security,” said Dr. John P. Holdren, Assistant to the President and Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, in a statement on Thursday announcing the new effort.

    http://idealab.talkingpointsmemo.com/2012/03/obama-administration-bets-big-on-big-data-initiative.php?m=1

  12. 30 Claire
    March 29, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    Good luck Collegekay!

  13. 31 Alycee (@jazziz2)
    March 29, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    CollegeKay is going up against Marilyn (aka GOSAL)! Damn! Now I have to double my donations… I know CollegeKay by reading her here — must always encourage our young folks; and I know Marilyn personally; hosted her twice last year when she was on her northeast tour… Question, can I claim PBO as a dependent??? LOL

    • 32 donna dem 4 obama
      March 29, 2012 at 3:37 pm

      Hi Alycee,

      I remember that trip after Art died. Yep I talked to GOSAL on FB yesterday and told her I was rooting for our Collegekay and her to win. Apparently the person with the most donations automatically wins a phone call but a second call will be made to a person who gets 10 donations or more. So everyone who gets 10 donations will get a chance for a phone call as well.

    • March 29, 2012 at 4:50 pm

      OH, you are that Alycee! Wow, good to see you here!

      I know GOSAL has a lot of supporters but do they still all hang out at OFA?

  14. 34 Esmerelda
    March 29, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    I can’t donate but have tweeted to those who can. Sending good vibes across the Atlantic, I remember the excitement when Donna Dem won last time. I’m sure CollegeKay will be just as generous in sharing her experience with us! (*angelic smile*)

  15. 37 susanne
    March 29, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    aloha chips and toddies
    just gave a small donation to collegekay’s fund for pbo–that makes 63 unique donors so far! best of luck, my dear!

  16. 38 Cheryllou
    March 29, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    Just donated! I’m so excited because I know it’s going towards a good cause. I will try my best to give every month till elections.

  17. 39 L3
    March 29, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    PBO’s coming to the Henry Ford Museum in Dearborn, MI for a fundraiser on April 18th. Has anyone else here from Michigan received an invite?

  18. 41 meabloom
    March 29, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    Two winners from TOD?!?! PBO will definitely be making a visit Chips.

  19. March 29, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    While the rest of us have to wait until June, the justices of the Supreme Court will know the likely outcome of the historic health care case by the time they go home this weekend.

    After months of anticipation, thousands of pages of briefs and more than six hours of arguments, the justices will vote on the fate of President Barack Obama’s health care overhaul in under an hour Friday morning. They will meet in a wood-paneled conference room on the court’s main floor. No one else will be present.

    In the weeks after this meeting, individual votes can change. Even who wins can change, as the justices read each other’s draft opinions and dissents.

    But Friday’s vote, which each justice probably will record and many will keep for posterity, will be followed soon after by the assignment of a single justice to write a majority opinion, or in a case this complex, perhaps two or more justices to tackle different issues. That’s where the hard work begins, with the clock ticking toward the end of the court’s work in early summer.

    http://mobile.boston.com/art/35/news/nation/washington/articles/2012/03/29/justices_to_vote_quickly_on_health_care_case/

    Like I said, the Liberal Justices will leak this to the WH, so if the talking points are upbeat from the WH…

  20. 43 necie4010
    March 29, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    I dug deep into my pocket and donated to KayKay today!!!! I have overspent my limit for this month, can’t wait for next month! I know it is all for a great cause….KayKay it was not much, but I could not let the day go by without helping out a part of TOD family!!!! just got off work for the day, having a long weekend starting tomorrow….hope I get to spend some much needed time here on the site….I never get to, but I am going to make time this weekend to try to get to know everyone here!!!! God bless everyone for all you do! if we do not work together to make change, change will never get made!!! Be blessed and see you tomorrow! Obama/Biden 2012….Working to continue the Change!!!

  21. 44 Diane
    March 29, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    Hi College Kay. I donated on day one, but came back and donated for my husband also so that you would have another unique donation, Best of luck!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


@POTUS

@BarackObama

@WhiteHouse

@FLOTUS

@MichelleObama

@PeteSouza

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

@TheObamaDiary

@NerdyWonka

RSS Obama White House.gov

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS WH Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Steve Benen

  • What you missed on Day 5 of Trump's hush money trial
  • Billionaire donors rethinking Columbia University support
  • How Amazon rose to the top of the tech world
  • John Heilemann joins Puck as chief political columnist
  • Young people have every reason to be enraged, says 'Algebra of Wealth' author
  • Senate will approve foreign aid package passed by House, says senator
  • Women using Ozempic report unexpected pregnancies
  • Crown Prince of Iran says regime has turned country into the North Korea of the Middle East
  • Trump calls on his supporters to protest in NYC, but he's not getting the circus he wants
  • Trump calls on his supporters to protest in NYC, but he's not getting the circus he wants

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 43,425,682 hits