17
Nov
14

Ferguson: Black Lives Matter

****

****

****

****

****

****

****

****


141 Responses to “Ferguson: Black Lives Matter”


  1. November 17, 2014 at 5:49 pm

    Thanks so much for this Nerdy, incredibly powerful tweets from @deray

    • 2 Nerdy Wonka
      November 17, 2014 at 5:58 pm

      Thanks, Chips.

      They hit me hard too. Raw, unvarnished truth.

      I have no clue what Gov. Nixon thinks he is doing by declaring a “State of Emergency.” He’s just showing minority communities that they shouldn’t trust him and he doesn’t value their lives, their thoughts, their safety, their opinions, and their very person.

      Eyes are watching the Ferguson law/judicial/executive enforcement system from top to bottom and the biases are glaring.

      • November 17, 2014 at 6:01 pm

        I’d love to believe this will happen, Nerdy, but I seriously, seriously doubt it:

        • 4 Nerdy Wonka
          November 17, 2014 at 6:18 pm

          I fee ya, Chips.

          One would hope he’d use common sense and see that it is nuts to allow a biased McCulloch proceed with anything regarding this tragic situation. McCulloch’s handling of the case has so far been appalling and shown a gaping hole in the so called justice system in Missouri.

      • November 17, 2014 at 6:05 pm

        Nixon thinks declaring a State of Emergency is going to somehow protect the community? NO. It’s about inflaming the community with more and more tremendous disrespect and dismissal. Everybody knows it’s antagonistic and an excuse to bludgeon people who are already hurting. UGH.

  2. 12 Judith Fardig
    November 17, 2014 at 6:05 pm

    I wish Nancy Pelosi had picked John Lewis instead of Steve Israel to lead the House Democrats on messaging.

    • 13 susanne
      November 17, 2014 at 6:08 pm

      wouldn’t that be wonderful? because he truly represents what democrats are supposed to be about.

    • November 17, 2014 at 6:17 pm

      I have to say I really don’t understand what the Democrats are doing these days. They seem to be focused on 2016 at the expense of everything else. Makes ZERO sense.

      • 15 susanne
        November 17, 2014 at 6:23 pm

        they seem to have accepted that the media’s only interested in the next sparkly presidential election. reporters are bored with pbo’s presidency, since they’re not permitted to write what he does, what he says, or what real people really think about his policies. everybody’s dancing to the gop’s puppetmasters’ tune.

        • November 17, 2014 at 6:30 pm

          I think you nailed it. It’s like this country now exists solely for the GOP and their henchmen in the MSM. I don’t know what to do.

          • November 17, 2014 at 6:36 pm

            I believe that the DEM Party never felt comfortable with PBO …his message or the Obama coalition that elected him twice…I think that they want to return to what was before Barack Obama…

            • November 17, 2014 at 6:40 pm

              This sounds about right. Stories coming out today are all about how Hillary is going to have a BIGGER, BETTER coalition. Give me a break.

            • 22 vcprezofan2
              November 17, 2014 at 8:39 pm

              ‘I think that they want to return to what was before Barack Obama…’

              Yes, but primarily because that was/is their comfort zone. In fact, in one sense I think that wanting to return to what was before has less to do with PBO’s race than with his philosophy/approach to governing. They had a system set up that worked beautifully from their perspective. It benefited them in many ways: they had perfected a way to incite the masses to vote against their best interests by throwing them timely handouts, and a way to schmooze the media people so that they felt themselves important and moving in the governing circles. PBO interrupted the cycle by his very inopportune entry (didn’t pay his ‘time’ dues), upended the scheme, and didn’t even have the grace to at least step back into line once he succeeded (I mean, he refused to make them all his party buddies).

              Add to this that HARDLY ANY OF THEM WANT TO BESTIR THEMSELVES TO LEARN ANYTHING NEW or to make effective changes, and you get a glimpse why so many (left and right) want to return to the previous state of affairs.

              • November 18, 2014 at 6:33 am

                YES and YES…VC…I do agree that the politics of PBO plays a major role in their discomfort level…but his race is ever an affront to them…although they need the blk vote to succeed….I would add that PBO wanted to empower… WE THE People … from the bottom up…the DEMS want to keep power in their hands…

          • 24 vcprezofan2
            November 17, 2014 at 8:23 pm

            ‘I don’t know what to do.’

            I share that feeling, Meta. Really, ever since Nov. 4 I’ve been feeling a bit lost. You see the GOP behaving in the vilest, most offensive, unpatriotic way; you see them asserting that they *will* win; you see them obviously stacking votes in their own favour; you see the MSM trotting along with them while being unprofessionally disrespectful to a leader chosen by the majority; and then the GOPS do win, without once being slapped on the wrist! It sure does bring on an ‘I don’t know what I *can* do’ feeling. I honestly do not get how the GOP and the MEDIA can be so in your face unpatriotic and not suffer any consequence whatever! I truly don’t get it.

            • November 17, 2014 at 8:30 pm

              Yes, this is definitely why I’m feeling like I don’t know what to do. It’s like they’ve taken over every element of democracy and violated it. The Kochs bought the Senate and the RW extremists own the MSM and the Supreme Court. They allow no dissent or difference, no compromise. It’s their way and their way only. All that matters is power and money.

              • 26 vcprezofan2
                November 17, 2014 at 8:52 pm

                GOP and their cronies do seem to be in control of each element in a perverted way, Meta, AND WHAT DEFEATS ME THE MOST IS that their violations are so obvious yet THEY GET AWAY WITH IT, even with advance warning! Take the case where 1000s of registration go missing, or last minute changes are made to voting info – I ask myself why are there no immediate consequences, or action taken to re-vote or whatever? I feel like GOP can, and do, sabotage stuff simply by timing their disruptions well, and once they grab the unearned victory, sometimes with the aid of the courts, it never gets snatched back. Whatever incentive there is for them not to tamper with results, I have yet to discover. Sigh!

                Sigh! I’m putting that weight down now (grateful for the chance to share it – it’s been heavy on my spirit for a while) and will try to leave it in this spot and move on in a lighter vein. Thanks, Meta – hope you also feel a bit freer even if we haven’t found any answers.

  3. 30 susanne
    November 17, 2014 at 6:06 pm

    ‘black america has been in a state of emergency for 400 years.’
    truth. sad, horrible, infuriating truth.

  4. 31 Dudette
    November 17, 2014 at 6:08 pm

  5. 33 mtmarilyn
    November 17, 2014 at 6:09 pm

    My heart is breaking. This isn’t America. I feel I want to be there protesting in the streets. This is so beyond comprehension. I feel I want to be on my knees praying for all black young people. I can’t believe this is happening. Those tweets tear my heart out. Thank you NW.

    • 34 Nerdy Wonka
      November 17, 2014 at 6:21 pm

      It is enraging and heartbreaking, MTMarilyn.

      Thanks, MTMarilyn.

    • 35 sabreen60
      November 17, 2014 at 6:23 pm

      Unfortunately this IS America. It is the America from slavery through the civil rights movement. The truth is that young black males have been killed by cops for decades. Now we have 24/7 instant coverage and more people are aware and awake.

      • 36 mtmarilyn
        November 17, 2014 at 6:29 pm

        You are right, it has always been the there I just haven’t seen it so in your face on TV and those in charge not doing their jobs. This is where white privilege is out there for all to see.

        Thank you all for this community. With all of your insights and information I know I am a better more knowledgeable person. This must change!!!

    • 38 arapaho415
      November 17, 2014 at 6:38 pm

      Agree with you Marilyn.

      I feel the same injustice that I experience first-hand when I was a freshman at UCLA (Spring 1972).

      I left class one afternoon and the LAPD SWAT (enormous men, must have been 6’6″) team was there billy-clubbing young men in the quad — chaos everywhere. Having led a sheltered life, had no idea what was going on (but knew about Kent State, Spring 1970) — only later did I realize that the SWAT team was going after young men, not women like myself.

      The quad was quiet when I had gone to class an hour earlier, can’t remember now what Vietnam War event triggered this, but there was no “demonstration” — this is what happens when police overreact.

      • 39 mtmarilyn
        November 17, 2014 at 9:51 pm

        Seems like we are going thru this all again only about something different. We had moved to Southern Cal from a small town in KS, in 1968, went to a private college. I was very naive, what an eye opener for me. Sure did change my life view. Thank you for all your sharing.

        I so love this community. We must overcome the hate.

  6. 40 Vicki
    November 17, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    Thank you, Nerdy so much for this enormously important series of tweets.
    The latest news is that Gov. Nixon has announced a press conference for 6:15 CT.

  7. 41 susanne
    November 17, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    gah– the irony.

    ‘ Attorney General Eric H. Holder, Jr. Speaks at Emmett Till Tree Planting Ceremony at the U.S. Capitol
    Washington, D.C.,
    United States
    ~
    Monday, November 17, 2014’

    … and he says this: ‘ So although Emmett Till died senselessly – and far too soon – it can never be said that he died in vain. His tragic murder galvanized millions to action. And today, we commemorate this legacy by planting a tree in his honor – a tree that will become his living memorial, here at the heart of our Republic, in the shadow of the United States Capitol. ‘

    http://www.justice.gov/opa/speech/remarks-attorney-general-eric-h-holder-jr-emmett-till-tree-planting-ceremony-us-capitol

  8. 43 Dudette
    November 17, 2014 at 6:12 pm

  9. 45 Dudette
    November 17, 2014 at 6:13 pm

  10. November 17, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    God, but this is depressing… Well, screw depression… Let’s keep up our souls, our courage, our commitment. Not easy, but we’ve gotta do it.

  11. 47 Roberta in MN
    November 17, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    NW thanks for those tweets. I was on twitter when I read what Nixon did, I couldn’t believe it. I pray for the people of Ferguson. Nixon is a coward.

  12. 49 Vicki
    November 17, 2014 at 6:19 pm

    They are playing disingenuos word games such as “calling in the Nat’l Guard” and “activating the Nat’l Guard.”
    The nat’l guard has been on the ground for about 8 days.

    If you watched the vine and videos from yesterday and today in University City and Clayton you would see that the protesters are all races, mostly but not entirely young, and entirely non-violent.

    Rev. Al’s first 2 stories tonight have been on Rush Limbaugh’s latest squeals and Isis. To say the least I find this appalling.

  13. 50 sherijr
    November 17, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    I just saw the announcement about Nixon’s plans, before seeing this new post and I am so disgusted, I can’t even find words anymore.

    • 52 MadameSoph
      November 17, 2014 at 6:47 pm

      This is deep and profoundly moving, especially at this moment in time. Thanks for tweeting and posting this Chips. Seeing Rep Lewis and AG Holder doing this gives me inner strength.

  14. 56 jacquelineoboomer
    November 17, 2014 at 6:31 pm

    I’m just getting on the blog today, and seeing this. Haven’t had a chance to sort it out in my mind, but I did have a thought about the state of “emergency.” May not make sense to anybody else, but I’ll share it anyway.

    Picture each black resident of Ferguson and the surrounding area – man, woman, and child – staying at home on the day the verdict is announced, if there’s notice. I know this sounds like an HBO movie plot and not a response to a human tragedy, but then picture all of the designated trigger-happy law enforcement hired hands sent in, in advance of the verdict (whatever it is) – at the local, county, and state levels – out on the streets by themselves. Let the tanks roll, let the snipers be at the ready on rooftops, let the police gangs march, let the police dogs be walked through, let the helicopters hover. Just the law “enforcement” people.

    Then, let everybody not paying attention in America see that the real takeover is the lawlessness of the police, that there’s no way Ferguson residents can ever achieve normalcy because of them, that the residents of this American city and others are being hunted down because of the color of their skin and not the content of their character, and that the blaring “emergency” does not start with the decent citizens who are just trying to stay alive.

    It’s a sorry day for all of us.

    • 57 jacquelineoboomer
      November 17, 2014 at 6:33 pm

      By the way, the police who don’t fit the “trigger-happy” category can call in sick, too.

    • 58 Vicki
      November 17, 2014 at 6:43 pm

      This was my idea, too, jacqueline and I posted it here a few days ago. Every citizen who is outraged by non-indictment should stay home.
      General strike.
      My research on the tactics being considered in St. Louis now do not include a strike or stay-at-home protest, Unfortunately.

      • 59 jacquelineoboomer
        November 17, 2014 at 8:29 pm

        And, of course, I’m not in the St. Louis area, but I’m going to support whatever the residents decide to do. And pray.

  15. 60 arapaho415
    November 17, 2014 at 6:32 pm

    Over the weekend CBS radio news said that schools would be given a 3-day notice before the Grand Jury verdict.

    Anyone here (Vicki?) know people whose children attend public schools in the #Ferguson area?

    • 61 Vicki
      November 17, 2014 at 6:38 pm

      3 hours, not 3 days, arapaho. The idea was to allow schools to get the kids home.
      If they announce after 6PM I’d expect no notice.

      • 62 arapaho415
        November 17, 2014 at 6:46 pm

        Thanks for clarifying — I only heard the report wrong, and obviously mis-heard. Sorry. 😦

        • 63 Vicki
          November 17, 2014 at 6:58 pm

          No apologies needed. I am happy when attention is paid to what is going on in St. Louis.
          There is no child living anywhere in the area whose life is unaffected. Months of stress, loss, fear. Jay Nixon has a lot to answer for.

          • 64 99ts
            November 17, 2014 at 7:41 pm

            And no doubt the white population will react by voting in a right wing nut job governor who will do exactly the same. Wonder when democrats will learn to stop being GOPers

      • 65 susanne
        November 17, 2014 at 7:00 pm

        vicki, your recommendation that everyone stay home in protest of the nat’l guard and state of emergency would be so perfect. it infuriates me that the governor is preparing for rioting and dangerous conditions. it’s inflammatory and a set-up–the old self-fulfilling prophecy.

        if he really wants peace in the community, he has the obvious option of arresting the murderer, begging forgiveness for having allowed such brutality to persist under his watch, and resigning his post as governor.

  16. 66 Dudette
    November 17, 2014 at 6:36 pm

  17. 68 Dudette
    November 17, 2014 at 6:37 pm

  18. 73 MadameSoph
    November 17, 2014 at 6:42 pm

    “Will there be a State of Emergency declared in advance of PumpkinFest 2015?”

    Exactly.

    I was flying home from my first trip oversees in 1992 when the verdict was announced in the Rodney King beating case. My girlfriend had been watching my place and she had me paged at the airport (before cell phones) to warn me about the curfew and that she couldn’t pick me up. I remember asking her, “What happened, did one of the cops get off?” She replied, “No, all of them did.” I was speechless.

    Here we are, over twenty years later. So much has changed and so little has changed.

    The duty of the National Guard should be to protect the citizens of Ferguson from their own Police Dept. But, since the Governor is calling them up, this is the Missouri National Guard, and the entire state seems to be sick with institutional racism, that’s not likely to happen.

    Still praying for justice for Mike Brown, even though that seems like it would be a miracle at this point.

  19. November 17, 2014 at 6:42 pm

  20. 77 Dudette
    November 17, 2014 at 6:43 pm

    Well here’s a shocker! They actually passed some worthwhile legislation in this Congress!

  21. November 17, 2014 at 6:53 pm

  22. 85 Dudette
    November 17, 2014 at 6:57 pm

    • 86 MadameSoph
      November 17, 2014 at 7:15 pm

      Yes, but the day after the midterms, stocks went up 100 points and it was a “GOP surge!”

      Meanwhile, for the first time in a long time, I filled up my tank, from empty to full, with only $20 yesterday! Thanks President Obama!

      • 87 susanne
        November 17, 2014 at 7:18 pm

        i remember when the popular wisdom was that a president who presided over diminishing gasoline prices would always be popular and his party would ride that wave. i guess that was just for white presidents.

        • 88 MadameSoph
          November 17, 2014 at 7:43 pm

          Yep. The rules for the media narrative, on the right AND on the so-called left, has miraculously shifted since Jan ’09. I guess, the black president clause was in the fine print.

  23. November 17, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    Updates, via RTs, in the sidebar ….

  24. 91 Linda
    November 17, 2014 at 7:27 pm

    Kaci Hickox never had Ebola and would very kindly like to ask everybody to stop calling her “The Ebola Nurse”-now!

    I never had Ebola. I never had symptoms of Ebola. I tested negative for Ebola the first night I stayed in New Jersey governor Chris Christie’s private prison in Newark. I am now past the incubation period – meaning that I will not develop symptoms of Ebola.

    I never had Ebola, so please stop calling me “the Ebola Nurse” – now!

    Hickox goes on to call out both New Jersey’s Chris Christie and the Governor of her state of Maine, Paul LePage:

    This is what did happen: I was quarantined against my will by overzealous politicians after I volunteered to go and treat people affected by Ebola in west Africa. My liberty, my interests and consequently my civil rights were ignored because some ambitious governors saw an opportunity to use an age-old political tactic: fear. Christie and my governor in Maine, Paul LePage, decided to disregard medical science and the constitution in hopes of advancing their careers.

    They bet that, by multiplying the existing fear and misinformation about Ebola – a disease most Americans know little about – they could ultimately manipulate everyone and proclaim themselves the protectors of the people by “protecting” the public from a disease that hasn’t killed a single American. Politicians who tell lies such as “she is obviously ill” and mistreat citizens by telling them to “sit down and shut up” will hopefully never make it to the White House.

    http://theimmoralminority.blogspot.com/2014/11/kaci-hickox-never-had-ebola-and-would.html

    • 92 99ts
      November 17, 2014 at 7:45 pm

      But the media kicked up an ebola storm to convince the US to vote for the GOP. ALWAYS the media – I think the US needs a war on the media.

  25. November 17, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    She’s fierce ….

  26. November 17, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    Thanks NW for posting this thread (and tweets). I don’t even know what to say at this point – I’m just utterly disgusted with Nixon’s blatant cowardice, dishonesty and bigotry throughout this ENTIRE process from the day the boy was murdered to this afternoon’s “declaration of emergency.”

    This is SICK!

  27. 96 vcprezofan2
    November 17, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    ??

  28. November 17, 2014 at 8:06 pm

    Really look forward to seeing this. Very timely release.

    https://twitter.com/rilaws/status/534507848831889411

  29. November 17, 2014 at 8:10 pm

  30. November 17, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    Can’t wait to see Mary Landrieu and the rest of the jackals when confronted by the Native American community, who are rising up against this vote on KXL.

  31. 123 Vicki
    November 17, 2014 at 8:19 pm

    Isn’t State of Emergency the same thing as Declaring Martial Law?
    Both these things mean a suspension of civil rights, I think.
    Which is a big thing to be concerned about.

    • November 17, 2014 at 8:26 pm

      Under State of Emergency, an individuals rights and freedoms may be suspended. With martial law, the military takes over local or state government. So, in many ways, it’s some of both.

      • 125 Vicki
        November 17, 2014 at 8:43 pm

        Thanks Meta.
        As you mentioned above it is dificult to know what to do to be helpful during the aftermath of the midterms and what I see as an existential threat to our democracy.
        We have a good chance of figuring it out here at TOD with the good people who work so hard to provide us with truth and with each other for support.
        PBO is our POTUS. He is doing everything he can.
        There will be better days.

    • 127 arapaho415
      November 17, 2014 at 8:35 pm

      Every state is different, but CA has declared many States of Emergencies — mostly from wildfires, flooding, earthquakes (i.e., natural disasters).

      I had to work Northridge the day after the 1994 earthquake and the National Guard were in most parking lots that lined the street I drove on — eerie feeling, seeing tanks on the streets, but I don’t know that they suspended civil rights.

      Of course an entirely different situation in MO.

      If Jay Nixon were smart (which he has proven himself not to be) the National Guard and police would be stationed in front of stores. Citizens should be allowed free access to public streets and sidewalks, and allowed to shop as usual, but there’s no need for them to approach closed businesses.

      • 128 Vicki
        November 17, 2014 at 8:45 pm

        Yes, arapaho, I see what you mean. We have seen the Nat’l Guard and States of Emergency for good reason. Disasters and so on when they are welcomed by local populations.

        Ferguson is so not that. In MO now they are a menace.

  32. 129 Nena20409
    November 17, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    These tweets are just incredibly truthful. Sad, but true. My heart aches. Thanks NW for this thread.

    Good Evening TOD.

    It looks like Chips and Dudette are the Gold Medalists 😉
    🍸
    Cheers!

  33. 131 Nena20409
    November 17, 2014 at 8:31 pm

    Until America Stands up, owns the ugliness that is still present……Racism, Bigotry, Prejudice, Sexism, etc……..Our Union is Not whole. 400 yrs plus and still the ugliness is alive and thriving.
    Shameful.

    Freedom? Liberty? Pursuit of Happiness?

    Grow up America.

  34. 132 Nena20409
    November 17, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    • 138 Nena20409
      November 17, 2014 at 8:40 pm

      In MN today, I paid $2.69…………………………………YES!

      • 139 Vicki
        November 17, 2014 at 8:49 pm

        In any kind of sane universe a President who brought about low gas prices would be cheered.
        We have certainly entered an alternative universe where mega-rich evil old guys rule over everything. And have overturned common sense and decency.

  35. 141 globalcitizenlinda
    November 18, 2014 at 4:35 am

    strange times indeed!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


@POTUS

@BarackObama

@WhiteHouse

@FLOTUS

@MichelleObama

@PeteSouza

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

@TheObamaDiary

@NerdyWonka

RSS Obama White House.gov

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS WH Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Steve Benen

  • What to expect from opening statements in hush money trial
  • Speaker Johnson continues facing backlash over Ukraine aid
  • 'This is a very different Passover' this year, says rabbi
  • Author thinks new book on George H.W. Bush should be 'mandatory' for all working in D.C.
  • 'Jam-packed day' as opening statements begin in Trump hush money trial
  • New exhibit in New York re-creates Israeli music festival attacked on Oct. 7 
  • Columbia University moves to virtual classes amid protests
  • World experiencing fourth global coral bleaching event in recorded history
  • Driver narrowly escapes fiery car with help from Good Samaritans
  • Trump 'couldn't get a job at the local mall': New ad hits Trump's legal woes

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 43,425,524 hits